How to make a Happy Mum The Recipe: Good Health. Part 2.

Standard

healthymum

Fitness.

When I was 25, I lived with a flat mate who was incredibly fit and she inspired me to do the same. I remember those days fondly as I’d never had such energy, positivity and enthusiasm for life as I did when I was physically fit. And so I’m making special mention of the importance of fitness in the journey towards a happy you.

It may be as simple as taking long walks while pushing the pram, or as formal as joining a gym and hitting that treadmill on a regular basis. How much you invest in your fitness is a very personal choice, suffice to say that no matter how much or little exercise you do- you’ll be glad that you did.

 

CHALLENGE: Increase Your Fitness the Easy Way.

 

If you are not exactly jumping with enthusiasm at the thought of hitting the treadmill or joining your local gym class, I have a great alternative for you that is not only painless- it’s downright pleasant!

It’s walking, but with a challenge attached- counting your steps. By counting your steps you can create a little competition with yourself to better or maintain your previous step records day by day, and then week by week. Before you know it, your fitness will dramatically improve.

I’ve always loved walking, so this idea seemed like a great plan- it has ended up being a lot of fun as I discover how competitive I am, even if the competition is just against myself! It’s become downright infectious- the more I walk, the more I want to walk! I have more energy as well which feels fantastic because as a Mum- you can always use a little more of that scarce resource in your day…

If you’d like to give it a try, why not start by working out the distances from your home to the different locations around your area that you visit frequently by car like- the supermarket, your children’s school, your favorite café. You may be surprised to find that they are not too far away and so walking instead of driving can be a real option on many occasions. It may take a little longer, but with some forward planning it can definitely be done!

The Numbers.

Lastly, if you find that having a goal helps keep you motivated; here’s some useful numbers to work towards-

10,000 steps per day To maintain current weight but improve fitness

12,000 steps per day To lose excess weight and improve fitness

Have a happy day!

Nicole

Leave a Reply

